Class of 2022: Chicago TV’s Silver Circle to add eight broadcast legends

Don Corneille

Don Corneille, who created, produced and hosted the longtime and culturally influential dance music show “Soul Train”, will be posthumously honored with the Chicago television industry’s highest honor.

Cornelius is one of eight notable broadcasters chosen to be inducted this spring into the Silver Circle of the Chicago / Midwest section of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

He and the other 2022 winners were announced at the 63rd annual Chicago / Midwest Virtual Regional Emmy Awards on Sunday.

Cornelius, who was born on the South Side of Chicago and graduated from DuSable High School, worked as an announcer on WVON radio and hosted “A Black’s View of the News” at Weigel Broadcasting WCIU-Channel 26 in 1960 before launching “Soul Train” there. as a local daily show in 1970. It entered national syndication in 1971. Cornelius died in 2012.

Here are the other 2022 Silver Circle winners:

Phil ponce

Phil Ponce, former host and “Chicago Tonight” correspondent at Window to the World Communications WTTW-Channel 11 and former reporter at WBBM-Channel 2, owned by CBS.

Martha Teichner, correspondent for CBS News and “CBS Sunday Morning” and former reporter for WMAQ-Channel 5, owned by NBC.

Roz Varon

Roz Varon, Traffic and transport presenter for ABC-owned WLS-Channel 7, which is considered the first in the country to broadcast rush hour reports on morning television news.

Mary Margaret Bartley, Emmy and Peabody Award winning set designer in Chicago for 40 years.

Derrick blakley

Derrick Blakely, former CBS News correspondent and former news anchor and reporter for NBC-owned WMAQ-Channel 5 and CBS-owned WBBM-Channel 2.

Morris jones (posthumously), videographer and photojournalist for WBBM-Channel 2 owned by CBS and former broadcast technician for Nexstar Media WGN-Channel 9 and WMAQ-Channel 5 owned by NBC. He died in 2016.

Dick johnson

Dick johnson (posthumously), former news anchor and reporter for WMAQ-Channel 5 owned by NBC and WLS-Channel 7 owned by ABC. He passed away in 2020.

The Silver Circle Award, established in 1992, recognizes individuals who have dedicated 25 years or more to the television industry and made significant contributions to broadcast Chicago. They are selected each year by a committee made up of members of the academy’s board of directors.

The induction ceremony will take place on May 13, 2022.

Friday’s commentary: Burt Levy: Unfortunately, due diligence at the Sun-Times should be a fairly quick process as there is little revenue left. Most of the major categories have disappeared and there is no struggle from within to recover this income. Hiring more copywriters won’t solve this problem. When an agency president confides in me that he has not heard from the Sun-Times for over two years and that he has more than 50 clients, you have to wonder what they are doing there!

Source link

Comments are closed.