A PERFECT CIRCLE’s BILLY HOWERDEL releases “Beautiful Mistake”

Billy Howerdel unveils a third track from his highly anticipated solo album, What Normal Was (Alchemy Recordings / Rise Records / BMG), with the arrival today of “Beautiful Mistake”.

“Beautiful Mistake” is the first of three additional songs the A Perfect Circle guitarist plans to drop weekly in the run-up to the album’s June 10 release along with “Selfish Hearts” debuting May 27 and ” The Same Again”. arrived June 3.

“We’re often too hard on ourselves,” Howerdel says in reference to the theme behind the song. “The Japanese Kintsugi philosophy, the appreciation of imperfection, has inspired me with a new way of thinking about mistakes. Forgiving others can often be easier than forgiving yourself.

Howerdel previously shared the songs “Poison Flowers,” as well as “Free And Weightless,” both of which can be enjoyed below.

Pre-orders and pre-backups of the What Normal Was album, which include a range of limited-edition vinyl variants and other physical formats, are available here.

What Normal Was track list:

“Selfish Heart”
“Free and Weightless”
“Beautiful Mistake”
“The Same Again”
“Poisoned Flowers”
“Bring Home the Honor”

Video “Poisoned flowers”:

Video “Free and weightless”:

Howerdel also recently announced an extensive North American tour in support of the upcoming album, with the six-week trek kicking off June 11 in Ventura, California, and including two dates with APC bandmate Maynard James Keenan’s Puscifer: June 12 at the Greek Theater (Los Angeles) and July 1 at the Meadow Brook Amphitheater (Rochester Hills, Michigan). Tickets and VIP packages for all headlining dates are on sale now. For tickets and ticket information, including VIP packages, please visit billyhowerdel.com.

Tour dates:

11 – Ventura, CA – Ventura Music Hall
12 – Los Angeles, CA – Greek Theater*
14 – Solana Beach, CA – belly up
15 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent
16 – Roseville, CA – Goldfield Trading Post
18 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom
19 – Seattle, Washington – Neumos
21 – Salt Lake City, Utah – Metro Music Hall
22 – Denver, CO – Gothic Theater
24 – Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line Music Cafe
25 – Milwaukee, WI – Summerfest
26 – St. Louis, MO – Delmar Room
28 – Chicago, IL – Cabaret Subway
29 – Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall

1 – Rochester Hills, MI – Meadow Brook Amphitheater*
2 – Toronto, ON – Club Axis
3 – Montreal, QC – Cafe Campus
5 – Allston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
6 – New York, NY – Gramercy Theater
8 – Philadelphia, PA – Living Arts Theater
9 – Baltimore, MD – Baltimore Soundstage
10 – Charlotte, North Carolina – The Metro
12 – Atlanta, Georgia – Masquerade
14 – New Orleans, LA – House of Blues
15 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall – Inside Downstairs
16 – Dallas, TX – The Echo Lounge & Music Hall
17 – Austin, TX – Emos
20 – Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom

* with Puscifer

Billy Howerdel, New Jersey-born, Los Angeles-based singer, multi-instrumentalist, producer, and songwriter, has quietly established himself as an alternative music writer whose talent for massive hooks is grounded in acute emotional understanding and sharpness. sound. Dedicating his life to music after seeing Pink Floyd live, he acted as a companion behind the scenes, working as a much-requested tour and studio technician for David Bowie, Guns N’ Roses and Nine Inch Nails. .

Befriending Maynard James Keenan when Tool opened for Fishbone (for whom Billy served as a technician), he occupied a room in a North Hollywood cottage with Maynard. Billy founded A Perfect Circle with Maynard in 1999. The band’s first feature, Sea of ​​Names, went platinum and made history as the “highest Billboard Top 200 for a rock band’s debut.” “. They followed it up with the platinum thirteenth step [2003] and gold Emotive [2004]. The group made their comeback with Eat The Elephant in 2018, marking their fourth consecutive Top 5 Top 200 debut.

In between, Billy’s music has also appeared in video games and on the big screen. In 2008 he made his first solo statement as Ashes Divide with Keep Telling Myself It’s Alright. Over the next decade, the album quietly established itself as a cult favorite with millions of streams and the odd sold-out “reunion” show. On his 2022 solo debut, What Normal Was [Alchemy Recordings/Rise Records/BMG], he lives in a space that respects his past, present and future. After all these years, songs and shows, Billy is ready to show up.

(Photo – Erica Weitz)

Source link

Comments are closed.